A guide to City Hall

City Hall is home to the Mayor of London and the London Assembly. A unique form of local government created to give Londoners more of a say in the way their city works.

City Hall is made up of three distinct parts that represent the capital's interests:

- a Mayor directly elected by Londoners every four years,
- the 25 members of the London Assembly, elected at the same time,
- and the staff who support them

All housed inside the City Hall building on the south side of the Thames, near Tower Bridge. The three parts of City Hall work together towards the goal of making London work better for you.

The Mayor of London is the voice of the capital whose job it is to make London a better place for everyone who lives or works here and for those who visit too.

The Mayor provides city-wide leadership on everything from transport, policing and fire services to the economy and the environment. The Mayor creates the plans and policies, scrutinised by the Assembly, that aim to improve the lives of Londoners and change the capital for the better.

It's also up the Mayor to champion the interests of London and Londoners all around the world.

Find out more about City Hall and how you can get involved visit: london.gov.uk/get-involved